Skipp
Skipp

• Lawn Club Member
  • PipPip
  • 9 posts
  • Business Name:Murphy's Lawn

Advice Needed, Owner Interstate.

Ok, so as I'm new to the game, really need some advice on this one,

Went to quote a decent size job today, for a house that has been vacant for 18months and customer is looking for a freshen up before renting out.

I've put a quote together and I will be sending it through shortly, including laying new lawn, mulch, gravel, booking a skip, ( a lot of waste) and it will take at least 2days to get the job done.

The customer is flying back before the job will be done, but there are painters that will still be on site.

Has anyone had experience with this before?

I've told him I need a 20% deposit up front, but that won't even cover materials, and I'm worried about the owner not paying the invoice once the job has been completed and the photos sent.

What are your thoughts on this?

Thanks

skipp
Posted 07 August 2017 - 06:07 PM

Macka
Macka

Advanced Member

• Lawn Club Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 207 posts

Term and Conditions,

that include INTEREST and legal fee to recover any debt

Posted 07 August 2017 - 07:36 PM

nathnsarah
nathnsarah

Advanced Member

• Lawn Club Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 105 posts

I take 50% deposit on all landscaping jobs. Garden clean up jobs over $500 also require %50 deposit if client is not there.   

Posted 07 August 2017 - 07:51 PM

crocster
crocster

Advanced Member

• Lawn Club Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,394 posts
  • LocationBrisbane Southside

+1 - I'd up the deposit so you've at least covered your costs - is there a reason you're a bit sus about the owner? - if it's being let through an agent could you arrange for payment to be lodged with them and then released after the agent has inspected your work? 

Posted 07 August 2017 - 08:06 PM

Skipp
Skipp

• Lawn Club Member
  • PipPip
  • 9 posts

Thanks for the input guys, much appreciated.