Advanced Member

• Lawn Club Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 121 posts
  • LocationWestern Sydney
  • Business Name:ultimate property services

Mixing Weed Spray

Hey there Crew,

As many of you know....I'm new at this thing ...And I'm still working under the supervision of the guy I'm buy the business off ..

well..Today we done out first weed spraying job..  and I was quite surprised when he mixed up the product...

On the bottle  ( Hortico weed killer 360)  is says mix 1ltr / 200 lts , but much to my surprise he mixed 500ml to 20lts ..*super strong) !! 

http://www.hortico.c...ds/weed-killer/

and he also added dish-washing detergent ...(just a good squirt)

I can understand his thinking with making the weed spray super concentrate , *More is better*....but I'm not so sure...!!

My thinking is,... weeds and plants you want dead, need the water content so it can be absorbed by the weed...   Just mix the product at the rate recommended... Maybe a bit stronger...  but not super concentrate... ..

The weed killer is cheap...so its not the money I'm trying to save, but I'm just trying to get the best performance out of the product ..  What do you think  ?

we also poured the product straight out of the bottle (100% concentrate) onto the stump of a tree we were try to poison...  Surely its needs to be mixed with water !! 

How do you guys mix up ?

Also...  we used a Stihl back pack sprayer, which was pretty shitty really...  (broken shoulder straps...etc..

What kind of back pack sprayer do you guys use ?

Cheers ;)

Posted 23 February 2018 - 07:51 PM

CGAHS
CGAHS

Advanced Member

• Lawn Club Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 628 posts
  • LocationJervis Bay NSW

Mixing Weed Spray

l buy 20lt drums of 450 strength gly and mix it at lest double the recommended dose (with a couple of drops of Consume surfactant ) and always get a 99% kill rate. Stumps, yep undiluted....its called cut & paint 

Posted 23 February 2018 - 08:46 PM

AndoTheMando
AndoTheMando

Advanced Member